1CEcredit
Livewebinar
Mon, 3 May
2:00 PM EST (New York)

Live Webinar: The first Global Osseointegration Day

Speaker(s): Prof. Tomas Albrektsson

  Days
:
   Hours
:
   Minutes
:
   Seconds
Register Now

Please login or register

In order to register for a webinar you must be a member of our website. If you already have an account, please login.

If you don't have an account yet, please register. Registration is completely free and it only takes a minute.

Become a member for free

other time zones

Course date in other time zones

Los Angeles, USA

03 May, 11:00 AM

Mexico City, Mexic

03 May, 01:00 PM

New York, USA

03 May, 02:00 PM

London, United Kingdom

03 May, 07:00 PM

Berlin, Germany

03 May, 08:00 PM

Bucharest, Romania

03 May, 09:00 PM

Moscow, Russian Federation

03 May, 09:00 PM

Abu Dhabi, UAE

03 May, 10:00 PM

Islamabad, Pakistan

03 May, 11:30 PM

New Delhi, India

03 May, 11:30 PM

Bangkok, Thailand

04 May, 01:00 AM

Hanoi, Vietnam

04 May, 01:00 AM

Beijing, China

04 May, 02:00 AM

Philipines

04 May, 02:00 AM

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

04 May, 02:00 AM

Singapore

04 May, 02:00 AM

Taiwan

04 May, 02:00 AM

Hong Kong

04 May, 02:00 AM

Sydney, Australia

04 May, 04:00 AM

Live Webinar: The first Global Osseointegration Day

Prof. Tomas Albrektsson

The first Global Osseointegration Day will be held on the birthday of P-I Brånemark, the man who coined the term osseointegration. This meeting is planned to be an annual one and is made possible by the support of Neoss

This the 1st Global Osseointegration Day of May 3rd of many to come, and is an ACP and EAO initiative with particular honors to Per-Ingvar Brånemark, father of osseointegration, whose day of birth it was. As is evident from a recent report published by AO in 2020, Brånemark decided to solve the issue of edentulousness in 1953 after having experienced the calamity of a nurse losing her false teeth accidentally. She had severely resorbed alveolar ridges and was unable to provide proper retention for her false teeth. When Brånemark nearly ten years later for the first time worked with implants in an experimental study of bone microcirculation found his implants stably anchored in the rabbit bone he was investigating, he immediately decided he was going to use this finding to provide stable anchorage for false teeth, despite the fact that Brånemark himself was a physician and not a dentist. After initial studies of oral implants placed in Beagle dogs, he treated his first patient with oral implants in 1965. The rest is history even if it took a long time before dentists were convinced of adequate implant success following the Toronto conference in 1982. With time, Brånemark´s team applied osseointegration in craniofacial and orthopedic sites to treat various conditions. P I Brånemark was born in 1929 and passed away in 2014.

Learning objectives:

  • Recognize that the first individual to try controlled placement of osseointegrated oral implants was a Swedish physician and anatomist named P-I Brånemark.
  • Learn that osseointegration is bone anchorage of oral, craniofacial and orthopedic implants that provides long term clinical function.
  • Understand that osseointegration, with growth and potential loss of anchoring bone, is primarily related to reactions governed by the immune system of the body.

Tribune Group GmbH is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider.
ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry. Tribune Group designates this activity for 1 continuing education credits.
This continuing education activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the standards of the ADA Continuing Education Recognition Program (ADA CERP) through joint efforts between Tribune Group GmbH and Dental Tribune International GmbH.


Release date: 03/05/2021
Expiration date: 03/05/2024

Speaker(s)

Prof. Tomas Albrektsson

Professor Tomas Albrektsson joined Per Ingvar Brånemark’s team in 1967 and has since been active in applied osseointegration research of oral, craniofacial and orthopedic implants. He graduated from Gothenburg University (MD:1975; PhD:1979 publishing his thesis on the healing of bone graft), where he has served as Professor & Head of the department of Biomaterials between 1986 and 2012. Tomas has been a visiting professor at Eastman Dental, University College of London 1998-2012, Laney visiting professor of the Mayo Clinic in the US in 2008, is a visiting professor in the prosthodontics department of Malmö University, and is a member of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. He has presented more than 1.400 lectures and published scientific and clinical papers in various peer-reviewed journals around the world.

Ask the Expert

Leave a Reply