1CEcredit
Livewebinar
Tue, 24 April
12:00 PM EST (New York)

Evolution of the bubble – new frontiers in laser endodontics

Speaker(s): Igor Križnar PhD, Specialist in Endodontics

  Days
:
   Hours
:
   Minutes
:
   Seconds
Register Now

Please login or register

In order to register for a webinar you must be a member of our website. If you already have an account, please login.

If you don't have an account yet, please register. Registration is completely free and it only takes a minute.

Become a member for free

add to calendar

Add the webinar to your calendar

other time zones

Course date in other time zones

Los Angeles, USA

24 Apr 2018, 09:00 AM

New York, USA

24 Apr 2018, 12:00 PM

London, United Kingdom

24 Apr 2018, 05:00 PM

Berlin, Germany

24 Apr 2018, 06:00 PM

Bucharest, Romania

24 Apr 2018, 07:00 PM

Moskow, Russian Federation

24 Apr 2018, 07:00 PM

Islamabad, Pakistan

24 Apr 2018, 09:30 PM

New Delhi, India

24 Apr 2018, 09:30 PM

Bangkok, Thailand

24 Apr 2018, 11:00 PM

Hanoi, Vietnam

24 Apr 2018, 11:00 PM

Beijing, China

25 Apr 2018, 12:00 AM

Philipines

25 Apr 2018, 12:00 AM

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

25 Apr 2018, 12:00 AM

Singapore

25 Apr 2018, 12:00 AM

Taiwan

25 Apr 2018, 12:00 AM

Hong Kong

25 Apr 2018, 12:00 AM

Sydney

25 Apr 2018, 02:00 AM

Evolution of the bubble – new frontiers in laser endodontics

Igor Križnar PhD, Specialist in Endodontics

The SWEEPS(R) is a revolutionary method for cleaning and disinfecting the root canal system, utilising the power of the Er:YAG laser to create powerful deeply penetrating shockwaves within the cleaning solution.

Disinfection and elimination of the microbial flora from the root canal system is one of the main goals of endodontic treatment. Because of the complex anatomy of the root canal system, beside mechanical instrumentation and conventional syringe irrigation, other methods have been used to enhance disinfection of the root canal system; namely sonic and ultrasonic irrigation, apical negative pressure irrigation, continuous irrigation and laser activated irrigation (LAI).

The Fotona PIPS system (Photon induced photoacoustic streaming) is a novel application for laser activated irrigation. It uses the Er:YAG laser with a wavelength of 2940 nm, which is delivered to the irrigant in the access cavity with a conical and stripped fibre tip. Due to the Er:YAG laser-light being highly absorptive in water, it causes boiling and micro-explosions in the irrigant solution, which induces cavitation bubbles. Research in this field led to the development of SWEEPS(R) (Shock Wave Enhanced Emission Photoacoustic Streaming), which is a revolutionary method for cleaning and disinfecting the root canal system. It utilises the power of the Er:YAG laser to create powerful deeply penetrating shockwaves within the cleaning and debriding solutions, with irrigants penetrating deep into lateral canals and microscopic dentinal tubules to disinfect dentinal walls by removing tissue, debris, biofilm and bacteria. An important advantage of the SWEEPS(R) laser endodontic treatment is that it cleans and disinfects root canal systems more effectively compared to conventional treatments. Additionally, due to its ability to clean narrow areas of complex root canal structure, the final file size required for canal shaping can be significantly reduced, allowing for minimally invasive preparations. This means overall treatment time is also shortened and fewer follow-up visits are required, which is highly appreciated by patients.

SWEEPS(R) promises to represent an entirely new way of thinking about root-canal therapy. With SWEEPS(R), practitioners are able to offer patients faster, safer and more effective root-canal treatments.


Release date: 24/04/2018
Expiration date: 24/04/2021

“Evolution of the bubble – new frontiers in laser endodontics” is co-sponsored by Tribune Group GmbH. Tribune Group GmbH is a recognized ADA CERP and AGD PACE provider.

Speaker(s)

Igor Križnar PhD, Specialist in Endodontics

Ask the Expert

Leave a Reply