1CEcredit
Livewebinar
Tue, 23 June
8:00 PM EST (New York)

Live Webinar: “It’s (Medically) Complicated”

Speaker(s): Thomas Viola RPh, C.C.P

  Days
:
   Hours
:
   Minutes
:
   Seconds
Register Now

Please login or register

In order to register for a webinar you must be a member of our website. If you already have an account, please login.

If you don't have an account yet, please register. Registration is completely free and it only takes a minute.

Become a member for free

other time zones

Course date in other time zones

Los Angeles, USA

23 Jun, 05:00 PM

Mexico City, Mexic

23 Jun, 07:00 PM

New York, USA

23 Jun, 08:00 PM

London, United Kingdom

24 Jun, 01:00 AM

Berlin, Germany

24 Jun, 02:00 AM

Bucharest, Romania

24 Jun, 03:00 AM

Moskow, Russian Federation

24 Jun, 03:00 AM

Islamabad, Pakistan

24 Jun, 05:30 AM

New Delhi, India

24 Jun, 05:30 AM

Bangkok, Thailand

24 Jun, 07:00 AM

Hanoi, Vietnam

24 Jun, 07:00 AM

Beijing, China

24 Jun, 08:00 AM

Philipines

24 Jun, 08:00 AM

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

24 Jun, 08:00 AM

Singapore

24 Jun, 08:00 AM

Taiwan

24 Jun, 08:00 AM

Hong Kong

24 Jun, 08:00 AM

Sydney

24 Jun, 10:00 AM

Live Webinar: “It’s (Medically) Complicated”

Thomas Viola RPh, C.C.P

“Essential Pharmacology for Treating Medically Complex Dental Patients”

Dental professionals must frequently draw upon their knowledge of pharmacology for optimal care of today’s medically complex dental patients. However, armed with relatively brief exposure to such a vast subject during formal education and faced with ever-changing medication therapy guidelines, many dental professionals simply cannot keep up with the latest trends in disease state management.

This program will provide an overview of the dental implications of the prescription medications, non-prescription medications, herbal products, nutritional supplements and substances of abuse most frequently used by patients. Special emphasis will be given to prescribing practices and the impact of generic substitution.

Upon successful completion of this program, participants will be able to:

  • Identify the prescription medications most frequently encountered on a patient’s medical history and discuss their indications for use, adverse reactions and impact on dental therapy.
  • Discuss the non-prescription medications most often used by dental patients and explain their impact on dental therapy, including situations which preclude their use.
  • Identify the most popular herbal products and nutritional supplements and discuss their purported uses and dental considerations.
  • Identify prescribing practices which address the impact of generic substitution.

Release date: 23/06/2020
Expiration date: 23/06/2023

““It’s (Medically) Complicated”” is co-sponsored by Tribune Group GmbH. Tribune Group GmbH is a recognized ADA CERP and AGD PACE provider.

Speaker(s)

Thomas Viola RPh, C.C.P

In addition to his daily practice of the profession of pharmacy, Thomas Viola also serves the dental professions as a clinical educator, published writer and professional speaker. Tom is a member of the faculty of eight colleges, as well as several national board exam review courses. He is a contributor to several dental professional journals, with pharmacology columns appearing regularly in General Dentistry, AGD Impact, Access Magazine and RDH Magazine. In addition, Tom currently serves on the Advisory Board for General Dentistry and as the Subject Matter Expert for Mosby’s Dental Drug Reference. Tom has presented hundreds of continuing education courses, nationally and internationally, in the areas of dental pharmacology and local anesthesia.

Ask the Expert